Albert Village Community Primary School | Occupation Road, Albert Village, Swadlincote, Leicestershire DE11 8HA

01283 217880

Albert Village Community Primary School & Nursery

Working our way to wisdom; learning our way for life.

Welcome to our Governors section.

At Albert Village School, we have an active and enthusiastic group of Governors who are committed to supporting and challenging the school in providing the best outcomes for your children. Our Governors come from a variety of backgrounds bringing various skills to help and provide the strategic leadership to the school.

 The Governing Body has three main areas of focus: -

  • To ensure the school has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • To hold the Headteacher to account for the school’s educational performance, and the performance management of staff;
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure its money is well spent.

 The Governing Body meets at least once a term and throughout the school year our Governors will take an active role in the school, not just attending meetings, but also school events such as assemblies, performances and open days. Our Governors will also complete a number of monitoring visits looking at particular areas of school life supporting the Schools Development Plan.

Governors will be wearing their governor badge when in school.  Feel free to approach them and ask them any questions.  If you would like to contact the governing body more formally then please hand any correspondence to the school office (addressed to the Chair of Governors, c/o Albert Village School).


Our governors


Governor Roles Term Of Office
Mr Jason Jenkin
(LSA - Spouse)

Chair Of Governors

Co-opted Governor

26/10/2016 - 25/10/2020

Mrs Karen Warr

(School Office Staff)

Vice Chair Of Governors

Co-opted Governor

07/11/2014 - 06/11/2018
Mrs Sue Savage Head Teacher 01/09/2008 - 31/08/2018
Mr Ray Merry
(Governor at Oakthorpe Primary)
Local Authority Governor 25/07/2014 - 24/07/2018
Mrs Karen Henchcliffe Staff Governor 15/11/2016 - 14/11/2020
Mrs Victoria Hamson

Training & Development Governor

Parent Governor

22/02/2017 - 21/02/2021
Mr Martin Pezzack Co-opted Governor 14/03/17 - 13/03/2021
Mrs Lianne De Oliveria Parent Governor 27/03/2017 - 27/03/2021
Mr James Washbrook Parent Governor 22/02/2017 - 21/02/2021
Mrs Sue Williams Parent Governor 22/02/2017 - 21/02/2021
Previous Governors
Governor Date Resigned Previous Term
 Mr Dean Parker June 2018  07/11/2014 - 06/11/2018 
Mrs Melanie Smith  January 2018  22/02/2017 - 21/02/2021 
Mrs Kay Eley 21st June 2017 19/11/2014 - 18/11/2018
Mrs Nicola Briggs 7th September 2017 03/06/2014 - 02/06/2018
Mr Gary Smith 20th March 2017 07/11/2014 - 06/11/2018
None of the Albert Village Governors have any relevant business interests.

Meeting Attendance

2017 - 2018 Full Governor Meeting Attendance 

Please click here to go to GovernorNet.